A note to Corby.

I thought I would write to you on here so your brothers wont be able to rip this up 🙂

You are my joy.  I will never forget laughing and crying the day I found out you were in my tummy.  Your dad and I were newly married (3 months), the day was July 7th, 2006.  I made your dad pork chops and curried fruit the night before, it looked delicious but when I tasted it I had to spit it out!  I started apologizing to dad telling him he didn’t have to eat the food.  He took a bite any way and told me it was amazing.  I was puzzled.  The next morning I couldn’t get the thought out of my mind that I was pregnant.  “Lord, why do I keep thinking about this?”  Then I opened the Bible and read, “We may throw the dice but the Lord determines how they fall.” Proverbs 16:33.  That was all I needed, I told your dad about it later that night while he took me on the Star Wars marathon (it was my first time watching it)  I couldn’t get it off my mind, we stopped the movie and bought a test.  Test one: positive. Test two: Positive.  Test three: still positive.  Dad called Grandma Overstreet to ask her if those things were accurate and then reality set in.  We were shocked, we were using “the pill.”  In the past I thought medication was stronger than God’s will….I was wrong.  What a wonderful way to be wrong son, to realize that God is good and that He was in control.  He had the best plan in mind when he knit you together in my womb.

Tonight I saw you as my infant again, that silly face you make wrecked me.  Watching your joy eating Moose Mus and ice cream brought me back to the warm feelings as a child hearing the ice cream truck come down the street.  I can relate to that feeling of enjoying sweets 🙂  Tonight as I tucked you into bed we talked about you becoming an astronaut.   I told you that I would miss you, and you told me that you could call me on the phone.  I love your innocence.  The sky is not the limit in your eyes.  We then said, “Our Father who is in Heaven, holy is your name.  Your kingdom come, your will be done on earth as it is in Heaven.  Give us this day our daily bread, forgive us our debts as we forgive our debtors.  And lead us not into temptation but deliver us from evil.  For yours is the Kingdom, and the Power, and the Glory forever. Amen.  You asked “what does our Father mean?” this continued until the end of the prayer.  Explaining each word gave me a glimpse of my image of God.  Why was it so easy to explain it to you, and yet so hard to explain to myself.  I love your childlike trust in God’s goodness.  You don’t question it.  You asked me about God’s house.  You asked me if God had a lot of snacks. I started to sniff you in your ear and give you kisses- and reality hit me so hard, one day you won’t want me to kiss you or sniff your ear.  I thought, I better get all the kisses in that I can.  This is the way I should see you, this is the way that God sees us- He takes every moment and cherishes it.  Lord, please do that in my heart with my sons, to treasure the present.  After all the intense emotions, you did what you do best, you made me laugh.  You said my kisses were passing gas.  You boys and the potty talk, I swear!

Don’t ever wonder if I love you.  Nothing that you will do will change my love for you.  You have melted my heart since day one.  I understand that it must be hard for you to not get all my attention, my mind is always thinking of you.  The other day we were talking about having good attitudes.  You started to cry and said, “It is really hard to let my brothers hurt me.”   Compassion overwhelmed me, I picked you up and told you what a great big brother you are.  You are always gentle with Obadiah (not so much with Kaleb but he can really beat up on you, poor guy:(    People will hurt you, but it takes a very tough and kind person to love them and not try to hurt them back.  I am so very proud of you.

One thought on “A note to Corby.

  1. This is beautiful! I’m happy I found your blog, cousin.

    I’m also envious of your garden- the deer eat everything in site at my house. Nothing has a chance 😦

Leave a Reply

