Would you want to live for 1000 years?

The scientific world is at it again.  They are trying to cure aging.  A biomedical gerontologist and chief scientist of a foundation passionate for research of longevity, Aubrey de Grey says that possibly within his own lifetime doctors could cure aging- and get rid of the diseases that follow age.  The goal is indefinite living.

“I’d say we have a 50/50 chance of bringing aging under what I’d call a decisive level of medical control within the next 25 years or so,” de Grey said in an interview before delivering a lecture at Britain’s Royal Institution academy of science.

“And what I mean by decisive is the same sort of medical control that we have over most infectious diseases today.”

De Grey sees a time when people will go to their doctors for regular “maintenance,” which by then will include gene therapies, stem cell therapies, immune stimulation and a range of other advanced medical techniques to keep them in good shape. He describes aging as the gradual build up molecular and cellular damage.

Now I love the beauty of life.   I want to be a mountain climbing, active old lady.  I can’t be more fascinated than older people who are confident and living life.  But I personally don’t like the thought of living on this earth for 1,o00 years, do you?  And the idea of regular “maintenance” is a little invasive?  It just seems morally wrong.  And frankly confusing.  

This idea may seem a little far fetched, but the 2005  Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) forked over $20,000 to disprove the theory, it was never done.  His focus would be on killing diseases of old age.   “This is absolutely not a matter of keeping people alive in a bad state of health,” he told Reuters. “This is about preventing people from getting sick as a result of old age. The particular therapies that we are working on will only deliver long life as a side effect of delivering better health.”

What would be the ecological effect on people living so long on this earth, we already mistreat the world so badly now?  What individuals would be able to participate in indefinite living?  I am assuming only the ones who have the “means” of doing this.  Wouldn’t it be hard to watch others around you die?  Is it morally wrong to physically alter our stem cells, and inner workings? Were we created initially to age?  What are the psychological and mental impacts of living so long?

If this science were to happen in my life time where would it stop?  What else would be invented?  Would humans be capable of taking on the responsibility of a long life span?    In response to concerns about overpopulation, should be we all live to be 200, de Grey says: “There are plenty of ways to keep population down even if we don’t let old people get sick—we could kill every other baby, for example. I hope you see my point: old people are people too. If we reject ageism, we are, inescapably, morally obliged to do our best to keep them healthy just as we do for the young, both by applying existing medicine and by developing medicine that does not yet exist.”

4 thoughts on “Would you want to live for 1000 years?

  1. Pingback: Who wants to live forever? Scientist sees ageing cured | Reuters « Mind Your Language

    • I’ve often wondered what I would get myself into, should I be able to put a teenagers barely used spine in my beat-up 53 year old back! I would if I could because pain ruins the quality of the life I do have. I’d rather put a new engine in an older car and go out in style than have everything “overhauled”, unrecognizable to both myself and others so I can live beyond my natural years. Great blog, Aloha!

  2. I would not want to live 1000 years. My lonely life is too long as it is. I would, however, like to go into suspended animation and be woken up every 50 years to look around.

  3. I would like to live 1,000 years as long as I could do it healthy and morally. Just imagine what you could build or save in 1,000 years! If you saved $5.00 per day, even without interest or inflation factors, that would be just shy of 2 million dollars! Yes! After 800 years I could retire! 🙂

Leave a Reply

